Transfer to Other Institutions

Transfer to Other Institutions

Roanoke-Chowan Community College offers three transfer degrees: Associate in Arts (AA), Associate in Fine Arts – Fine Arts, and Associate in Science (AS) for students that plan to transfer to a 4-year college/institution after completing the degree. 

Additionally, we have special 2+2 Articulation Agreements with institutions such as Chowan University, Elizabeth City State University, East Carolina, and Shaw University. 

Frequently Asked Questions

The University of North Carolina (UNC) system has established Minimum Course Requirements (MCR) to enter any UNC system school.

If you have any questions about your admissibility to the UNC institution(s) you are considering, contact the admissions office of the college or university directly.

University recruiters periodically visit R-CCC.  Email notifications will be sent out to students when the Transfer Tour comes to campus. For more information, visit Student Services or call (252) 862-1200.

You should meet with your faculty advisor to begin the transition process as soon as you start taking classes. 

  • Research different colleges or universities in which you may be interested. Find out their admissions requirements and schedule visits to see the campuses firsthand. Students may research N. C. colleges and universities online at Also see university transfer plans on the University of North Carolinawebsite.
  • Following application to a four-year institution, you will need to request official transcripts from your high school and R-CCC, as well as any other colleges previously attended.